Jack van Poortvliet to start for England against New Zealand

Eddie Jones has made three changes to the England side
Eddie Jones has made three changes to the England side

England coach Eddie Jones has handed a start to scrum-half Jack van Poortvliet for the upcoming autumn international game against New Zealand to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Marcus Smith will continue to remain at fly-half with van Poortvliet at scrum-half and Ben Youngs providing cover from the bench.

Elsewhere Jack Nowell has recovered from an abdominal injury to claim his place at right wing with Jonny May at left. Owen Farrell starting at inside centre will win his 100th cap and is joined at midfield by Manu Tuilagi.

While the front row sees no change, Maro Itoje returns back to the second row joining Jonny Hill and Sam Simmonds moves to blindside with Billy Vunipola returning back to the back row that also has Tom Curry.

"This fixture doesn't come around too often, and these are the games that players remember in their careers," said Jones.

"New Zealand have had the upper hand over the years, but it's been more balanced in recent times and the players have a chance to play their part in history.

"We've had a great week preparing for the game and the team is ready to go at them.

"We're really pleased for Owen that he is reaching such a significant and special milestone. He is an excellent player and competitor, and he is deserving of every cap."

England: 15. Freddie Steward, 14. Jack Nowell, 13. Manu Tuilagi, 12. Owen Farrell (captain), 11. Jonny May, 10. Marcus Smith, 9. Jack van Poortvliet, 1. Ellis Genge, 2. Luke Cowan-Dickie, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 4. Maro Itoje, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Sam Simmonds, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Billy Vunipola.

Reserves: 16. Jamie George, 17. Mako Vunipoa, 18. Will Stuart, 19. David Ribbans, 20. Jack Willis, 21. Ben Youngs, 22. Guy Porter, 23. Henry Slade.

New Zealand: 15. Beauden Barrett, 14. Mark Telea, 13. Rieko Ioane, 12. Jordie Barrett, 11. Caleb Clarke, 10. Richie Mo'unga, 1. Ethan de Groot, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Tyrel Lomax, 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Samuel Whitelock (captain), 6. Scott Barrett, 7. Dalton Papali'i, 8. Ardie Savea.

Reserves: 16. Samisoni Taukei'aho, 17. George Bower, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Shannon Frizell, 20. Hoskins Sotutu, 21. TJ Perenara, 22. David Havili, 23. Anton Lienert-Brown.