Injured Healy misses out on selection as Ireland confirm World Cup squad

Cian Healy suffered a leg injury during the warm-up game against Samoa
Cian Healy suffered a leg injury during the warm-up game against Samoa

Ireland have left out veteran prop Cian Healy from the 33-man Rugby World Cup squad announced on Sunday.

Healy picked a leg injury during Ireland's win over Samoa and is expected to be out of action for at least 10 weeks according to head coach Andy Farrell, who has opted for a 18-15 combination.

Johnny Sexton, who has served his three-game suspension will captain the side with 16 players having featured in the previous World Cup in Japan.

While Healy misses out, Dan Sheehan, Ronan Kelleher, Jack Conan, Dave Kilcoyne and Keith Earls have been picked despite their injury concerns. Sexton is joined by Conor Murray and Keith Earls on the players who will be playing in the World Cup for the fourth time while Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Robbie Henshaw and Peter O’Mahony have featured in two editions previously.

Ulster pair Tom Stewart and Jacob Stockdale along with Leinster's Ciaran Frawley and Connacht's Cian Prendergast have missed out on the selection.

“It has been a difficult selection process over the last number of weeks because a squad of 43 players have worked extremely hard throughout an eight-week pre-season period, with the group pushing each other on the pitch and becoming very close off it,” said Farrell.

“As coaches, we are pleased with our 33-player selection and believe we have chosen the right group to represent Ireland in France. It is a hugely exciting time for the group as we prepare to depart for Tours and finalise our preparations for our Rugby World Cup opener against Romania.

“We look forward to the challenges ahead, knowing there is a huge level of support for the team from across the four Provinces, from all those in green around the world and from the thousands who will be in France backing us throughout the tournament.”

Ireland squad:

Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Ronan Kelleher, David Kilcoyne, Jeremy Loughman, Joe McCarthy, Peter O’Mahony, Tom O’Toole, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Josh van der Flier

Backs: Bundee Aki, Ross Byrne, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Keith Earls, Jamison Gibson-Park, Mack Hansen, Robbie Henshaw, Hugo Keenan, James Lowe, Stuart McCloskey, Conor Murray, Jimmy O’Brien, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton (c)


Ireland Fixtures