Five uncapped players in New Zealand's matchday squad for clash against Argentina

New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen
New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen

New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen has named five uncapped players in the matchday squad for the Rugby Championship opening game against Argentina to be played in Buenos Aires.

Sevu Reece has been named on the right-wing while Atu Moli, Luke Jacobson, Josh Ioane and Braydon Ennor are named on the bench.

"As always, with the first game of the season, we've worked hard on building our relationships, re-establishing our connections and combinations and getting clarity in our roles," said Hansen.

"We'll continue to nail the details further in training throughout the week so that we are bright, clear and excited to play with real intensity come Saturday,"

"It's going to be exciting to watch how the new All Blacks perform along with their more experienced teammates. The team is a mixture of experience and raw enthusiasm, which I'm sure everyone is looking forward to seeing come together and play."

Beauden Barrett takes the kicking responsibility with Ben Smith at fullback. Sam Cane will captain the side in the absence after Kieran Read was handed a rest. This will be the third time he will be leading the All Blacks.

New Zealand starting line-up: Ben Smith, Sevu Reece, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ngani Laumape, Jordie Barrett, Beauden Barrett, Aaron Smith, Ofa Tuungafasi, Dane Coles, Angus Ta'avao, Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu, Vaea Fifita, Sam Cane (captain), Ardie Savea

Replacement: Liam Coltman, Atu Moli, Nepo Laulala, Jackson Hempo, Luke Jacobson, Brad Weber, Josh Ioane, Braydon Ennor

New Zealand Fixtures


New Zealand Results