EPCR unveil European Player of the Year Nominees

Sam Simmonds (left) is among the nominees
Sam Simmonds (left) is among the nominees

The European Professional Club Ruby has announced 15 players in contention to win the European Player of the Year award.

Ulster's John Cooney, who tops the list for most points this season with 71 to his tally has been shortlisted along with the three joint leading try-scorers in the tournament - Exeter Chiefs' Sam Simmonds, Leinster's Garry Ringrose and Racing 92's Teddy Thomas.

Stuart Hogg, who moved to Exeter before the ongoing season will join his club team-mates Simmonds and Luke Cowan-Dickie while Leinster also dominate the nominations with Tadhg Furlong and Jordan Larmour joining Ringrose.

Scotland international Finn Russell also makes the cut with Racing 92's Virimi Vakatawa along with Toulouse duo Jerome Kaino and Romain Ntamack, Clermont's George Maola, Bordeaux Begles' Semi Radradra and Ulster's Marcell Coetzee. Apart from the list, players, who make significant impact in the play-offs will also be considered after which the voting will be reopened.

The panel, who were in charge of selecting the nominees include Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions).

The winner will be announced at the end of the final on 23rd May at Stade Velodrome.

For voting click here.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table