EPCR announces revised format for 2020/21 season

The tournaments will resume in the first week of April
The tournaments will resume in the first week of April

The European Professional Club Rugby has announced the revised format for the remainder of the 2020/21 season of Champions and Challenge Cup competitions.

The final two rounds of the group stage in both the tournaments have been cancelled after the French government advised against their clubs competing in the cross-border competitions due to increase in Covid-19 cases.

As a result, the organisers have unveiled the Round of 16 schedules for both the competitions with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final set to take place according to the original schedule.

The Champions Cup will see top eight teams in both the groups qualifying for the next round scheduled to take place in the first week of April with Wasps, Racing 92, Leinster, Bordeaux-Begles and Munster, who won both the games (not impacted by Covid-19) will have a guaranteed home matches.

For the purposes of the draw, clubs from the same league cannot be drawn against one another, however, clubs from either pool can be drawn against one another.

Meanwhile, the Challenge Cup will see the top eight teams in the group before the tournament was suspended will compete against the other eight teams not qualified for the knockout stage of the Champions Cup in the Round of 16.

2020/21 Knockout Stage Qualifiers:

Heineken Champions Cup – Racing 92, Leinster Rugby, Wasps, Bordeaux-Bègles, Munster Rugby, Lyon, Toulouse, La Rochelle, Scarlets, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Bristol Bears, Exeter Chiefs, Edinburgh Rugby, Gloucester Rugby, RC Toulon, Sale Sharks
NB Racing 92, Leinster, Wasps, Bordeaux-Bègles and Munster are guaranteed home matches in the Round of 16.

Challenge Cup – London Irish, Ospreys, Leicester Tigers, Cardiff Blues, Zebre Rugby Club, Agen, Benetton Rugby, Newcastle Falcons, Ulster Rugby, Connacht Rugby, Northampton Saints, Bath Rugby, Montpellier, Dragons, Harlequins, Glasgow Warriors
NB London Irish, Ospreys and Leicester Tigers are guaranteed home matches in the Round of 16.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table