England Women name squad for Super Series

England Women will face USA in their opening game of the series
England Women will face USA in their opening game of the series

England Women head coach Simon Middleton has named a 28-member squad for the Super Series in San Diego to be played later this month.

England Women would look to build on their momentum after they went on to clinch the Grand Slam earlier this year and followed it with a win over their Barbarians counterpart recently. The squad that will assemble at Bisham Abbey on Tuesday will have uncapped duo Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies) and Clara Nielsen (Bristol Bears Women).

Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies) and Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning) also make a comeback after spending time on the sidelines with injuries while Heather Kerr rejoins the England squad after being on the replacement list for Barbarians agains the red rose team.

“I’ve been really pleased with how this new generation of Red Roses has been developing since January," said England Women's coach Middleton.

“We’ve been looking to continually improve our performance every time we take to the pitch, be that in training or a match, and we want to build on that as we complete our final preparations for San Diego.

“This camp and another one that we have next week are about focussing on ourselves. They will allow us to work on key areas and keep developing our game, as well as giving us the opportunity to reintegrate a number of players who are coming back after time out with injury.

Middleton added: “The Super Series promises to be a superb competition and a great challenge against high-quality opposition. It will provide us with perfect platform to see exactly where we are as a squad and just as crucially how far we still have to go in order to reach the levels we aspire to".

England Women will kick-start their 2019 Super Series campaign with a clash against USA on 28th June at Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center.

England Women squad for 2019 Super Series

Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies)
Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women)
Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women)
Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women)
Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies)
Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries)
Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies)
Sarah Hunter (Captain, Loughborough Lightning)
Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women)
Cath O'Donnell (Loughborough Lightning)
Marlie Packer (Saracens Women)
Ellena Perry (Saracens Women)
Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)

Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)
Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Claudia MacDonald (Wasps FC Ladies)
Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women)
Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women)
Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies)
Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning)
Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies)
Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries)
Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women)
Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)

Not available for selection due to injury:
Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies)
Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies)
Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies)
Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)
Bryony Cleall (Saracens Women)
Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning)
Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women)