England name Marcus Smith at fullback as Owen Farrell returns for game against Chile

Elliot Daly shifts to outside centre for the game against Chile
Elliot Daly shifts to outside centre for the game against Chile
©Photo by Michael Steele - World Rugby/World Rugby via Getty Images

England head coach Steve Borthwick has named Marcus Smith at fullback for the upcoming Rugby World Cup game against Chile to be played on Saturday.

Smith impressed at the position when he came off the bench in the game against Japan as he takes the place of Freddie Steward, who is rested. Owen Farrell returns from suspension to captain the side at fly-half with George Ford, who had impressive outings against Argentina and Japan drops to the bench.

Danny Care gets his first start of the World Cup at scrum-half while Max Malins and Henry Arundell are the preferred wings with Elliott Daly and Ollie Lawrence forming midfield partnership.

Bevan Rodd and Kyle Sinckler are the props on either side of hooker Theo Dan while David Ribbans and George Martin combine in the second row. Lewis Ludlam shifts from number eight to blindside while Jack Willis is at openside allowing Billy Vunipola to start for the first time in the tournament at number eight.

Jack Walker, Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Ollie Chessum, Ben Earl, Ben Youngs and Joe Marchant join Ford on the bench.

“One of the many great things about the Rugby World Cup is that the tournament provides an excellent opportunity to play against teams that we rarely have a chance to see,” Borthwick said.

“It is for that reason that we are particularly looking forward to testing ourselves against Chile on Saturday.

“Having watched our next opponent closely, we know that we will have to prepare and play well against a committed Chile team.

“As we head to the next round, it is only right that I once again pay tribute to our excellent supporters, who I know will be right behind us in Lille this weekend.”

Team line up:

England: 15 Marcus Smith, 14 Henry Arundell, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Max Malins, 10 Owen Farrell (c), 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Jack Willis, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 George Martin, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Theo Dan, 1 Bevan Rodd

Reserves: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Ollie Chessum, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 George Ford, 23 Joe Marchant