Eben Etzebeth returns to South Africa line up for game against Ireland

Eben Etzebeth is one of the 13 changes made by South Africa
Eben Etzebeth is one of the 13 changes made by South Africa

South Africa head coach Jacques Nienaber has made 13 changes to the starting line up for the vital for their third Pool B game against Ireland.

Damian Willemse and Bongi Mbonambi are the only players retaining their places from the side that defeated Romania 76-0 in the previous game.

Willemse shifts to fullback with Manie Libbok returning back to fly-half and Faf de Klerk partners him at halfback. Cheslin Kolbe and Kurt-Lee Arendse are positioned at wings while Jesse Kriel and Damian de Allende are at midfield.

Captain Siya Kolisi returns to back row that also has Pieter-Steph du Toit and Jasper Wiese while Eben Etzebeth returns from injury to be the preferred lock alongside Franco Mostert.

Mbonambi the only specialist hooker in the squad is joined on either side by props Frans Malherbe and Steven Kitshoff.

Former Ireland international Jean Kleyn is part of the bench that also has Deon Fourie, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, RG Snyman, Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith and Cobus Reinach.

South Africa XV: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Reserves: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 RG Snyman, 21 Marco van Staden, 22 Kwagga Smith, 23 Cobus Reinach