Barrett brothers to be part of All Blacks starting line-up for Perth game

Beauden Barrett will start at fly-half for New Zealand
Beauden Barrett will start at fly-half for New Zealand

New Zealand head coach Ian Foster has named all three Barrett brothers in the starting line-up for the third and final Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia in Perth on Sunday.

Jordie Barrett replaces Damian McKenzie at fullback with the latter dropping to the bench while Will Jordan and Reiko Ioane retained at wings. Anton Lienert-Brown returns from injury to be part of the midfield that also has David Havili at inside centre.

The absence of Richie Mo'unga sees Beauden Barrett at fly-half forming halfback partnership with Brad Weber. The absence of Sam Whitelock sees Ardie Savea taking the captaincy role and will be part of the back row that also has Dalton Papalii and Akira Ioane.

Scott Barrett gains promotion from the bench and join Brodie Retallick at second half with Nepo Laulala, Codie Taylor and George Bower at front row.

“We are ready, and the team is really determined to finish off this block of Tests against Australia with a top performance," said Foster.

“We’ve had a really unique situation going into this Test, with quarantine back in New Zealand and a ‘soft’ quarantine here in Perth, but the work that has gone in preparing the players has been outstanding, so when the whistle goes on Sunday, we’ll be ready.”

“In the forwards, we have picked a group that is most recently battle-hardened. A lot of them played in the first two Bledisloe Cup Tests, so it’s right to go with them in this Fortinet Rugby Championship Test.”

New Zealand starting line-up: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 David Havili, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Ardie Savea (captain), 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 George Bower.

Reserves: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Damian McKenzie, 23 George Bridge.