Australia make six changes for final Bledisloe Cup game

Reece Hodge starts at fly-half for Australia
Reece Hodge starts at fly-half for Australia

Australia head coach Dave Rennie has made six changes to the starting line-up for the final Bledisloe Cup game against New Zealand to be played in Brisbane on Saturday.

As James O'Connor still recovering from his injury, Noah Lolesio drops to the bench with Reece Hodge taking the fly-half role for the first time since 2017.

Tom Banks comes at fullback in the place of Dane Haylett-Petty while Tom Wright will make his debut on the right wing replacing Filipo Daugunu.

Hunter Paisami has been brought in for Irae Simone as he forms the centre partnership with Jordan Petaia while there is a solitary change in the back row with Lachie Swinton replacing Ned Hanigan, who now moves to the bench.

The final change sees Lukhan Salakaia-Loto making way for Rob Simmons as Australia look to return back to winning ways after losing the Bledisloe Cup for the 18th consecutive year.

Teams line-up:

Australia: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Jordan Petaia, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Reece Hodge, 9 Nic White, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Lachie Swinton, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper

Reserves: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Ned Hanigan, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Noah Lolesio, 23 Filipo Daugunu