Australia announce 38-man squad for series against France

Australia head coach Dave Rennie
Australia head coach Dave Rennie

Australia head coach Dave Rennie has announced a 38-man squad for the upcoming series against France to be played in July.

Sitaleki Timani, who last played for the Wallabies in 2013 has been recalled after signing a contract with Western Force that makes him eligible to represent Australia again.

Dane Haylett-Petty, Jordan Petaia and Suliasi Vunivalu while James O'Connor has recovered from a knee injury to make it to the squad that will be captained by Michael Hooper, who made a return from his stint in Japan.

The squad also contains 11 uncapped players Len Ikitau, Lachlan Lonergan, Feleti Kaitu’u and Rob Leota.

“We’ve picked this squad on form and on potential, and I know the whole group are really excited to get stuck in and push their case for a Wallaby jersey against France," said Rennie.

“Obviously the squad is a bit bigger than what we would normally have but we had to consider how we will handle the rigours of the Series against France.

“We’ll get together on Tuesday and then start our preparations in earnest for what promises to be a really exciting Series against a side that’s at the top of its game.”

The three-game series will be played in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane on 7th, 13th and 17th July respectively.

Australia 38-man squad:

Backs: Tom Banks, Filipo Daugunu, Lalakai Foketi, Jake Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Tate McDermott, Andy Muirhead, James O'Connor, Hunter Paisami, Izaia Perese, Matt Toomua, Nic White, Tom Wright.

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Angus Bell, Pone Faamausili, Michael Hooper (c), Feleti Kaitu, Rob Leota, Lachlan Lonergan, Fraser McReight, Isi Naisarani, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Matt Philip, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Darcy Swain, Lachie Swinton, Sitaleki Timani, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Michael Wells, Harry Wilson.