Argentina rings the changes for game against New Zealand

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma
Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma has made 10 changes to the starting XV for the upcoming Rugby Championship game against New Zealand to be played in Newcastle on Saturday.

The backline sees a total of six changes with Ramiro Moyano and Santiago Cordero positioned at wings and Juan Cruz Mallía along with Jerónimo de la Fuente forming centre partnership. Emiliano Boffelli is slotted at fullback.

Nicolas Sanchez, who starred for the Pumas in the opening two games will form halfback partnership with Felipe Ezcurra.

The front row sees two changes with Mayco Vivas and Santiago Medrano joining Julian Montoya while Lucas Paulos returns to second row in the place of Matias Alemanno. The final change in the starting XV sees Facundo Isa named at number eight at the expense of Rodrigo Bruni.

Argentina defeated New Zealand for the first-time ever when these two teams locked horns in the third round with a 25-15 margin and followed it with a 15-15 draw against Australia.

Argentina starting XV: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Ramiro Moyano, 13 Juan Cruz Mallía, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Lucas Paulos, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Mayco Vivas.

Reserves: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Lucio Sordoni, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20. Santiago Grondona, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Santiago Carreras 23 Lucas Mensa.