Argentina name Jeronimo de la Fuente as captain for Australia clash

Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma
Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma

Argentina have named Jeronimo de la Fuente as the new captain for the final round of the Rugby Championship clash against Australia.

The decision follows after regular skipper Pablo Matera along with Guido Petti and Santiago Socino was suspended pending a disciplinary hearing after posting racists comments in social media.

Mario Ledesma has made a total of 11 changes to the starting line-up from the 38-0 defeat against New Zealand with Emiliano Boffelli moving from fullback to left wing. Nicolas Sanchez, Facundo Isa and Julian Montoya also continue to be part of the starting line-up.

Bautista Delguy joins Boffelli at wing with Santiago Carreras slotted at fullback. Matias Orlando joins skipper de la Fuente at midfield while Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Montoya and Francisco Gomez Kodela forming front row.

Matías Alemanno and Marcos Kremer are at second row with Rodrigo Bruni and Santiago Grondona joining Isa at back row.

Argentina starting XV: 15 Santiago Carreras, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Facundo Isa, 6 Santiago Grondona, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Reserves: 16 Jose Luis Gonzalez, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Lucas Paulos, 20 Francisco Gorrissen, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Santiago Chocobares