Adam Radwan named Gallagher Premiership Rugby Player of the Month

Newcastle Falcons winger Adam Radwan

Newcastle Falcons wing Adam Radwan has started the 2021-22 Gallagher Premiership Rugby season in style, today being named as the first Gallagher Player of the Month for the new campaign.

Radwan helped the Falcons complete a great start to the season, breaking into the Gallagher Premiership top four, bringing acclaim from BT Sport pundit and Gallagher ambassador Ugo Monye.

Monye said: "Adam is such a threat with the ball and an incredibly exciting player. It’s just great to see his form for Newcastle Falcons and the continuation of his growth as a player.

"As a coach, and as one of his teammates, the confidence which he exudes means you want to get the ball to him all time. It becomes this self-fulfilling prophecy because he’s playing so well with so much confidence. He looks like a threat, whether it’s breaking tackles, beating players or scoring tries. His defence has been great too and I’ve been impressed by him. 

"As a back three player you look for X-Factor and he has it. At the moment, Adam's backing himself. You can have all the raw talent and ability, but if you’re not backing yourself you are underplaying your talent. He’s flying at the moment, and if he continues playing as well as he is now, anything’s possible and achievable for him."

Radwan started to hit hot form last season earning a call-up to the England squad.

Monye added: "Adam's started the season in the same way he finished last season. His last game was for England where he scored a hat trick against Canada and he’s just been electric.

"Yes, he’s been on the scene for a couple of years but I feel as though his rise over the last couple of months has been extraordinary and his potential is frightening. I think he’s the quickest player in Gallagher Premiership Rugby."

Although ongoing Covid-19 restrictions prevented a physical presentation of his award, Falcons’ fan, club liaison and sales director for Gallagher in Newcastle, Andrew Morton, said: "Adam Radwan has started this season in superb form - he’s not called the ‘Flying Falcon’ for nothing. His on-pitch acceleration and attacking play have already created showstopper moments for all the supporters relishing their return to Kingston Park.

"Adam responds to the atmosphere and pressure of fan-filled stadiums with electrifying effect. He’s a tremendous home-grown talent here in the North-East and we couldn’t have a more worthy winner. For local businesses like ours, it’s also brilliant to be back in the stands with clients and colleagues, playing a full part in the rugby community once again."

Radwan – as part of his prize for being named Gallagher Player of the Month – wins a shirt signed by the whole Newcastle Falcons squad and framed by Gallagher to gift to a charity of his choice, to help them raise funds for their cause.

Radwan was judged by a panel of experts as the player who made the biggest impact in Gallagher Premiership Rugby in September 2021.

He was involved in a four-way battle to win the award eventually beating Nic Dolly, George Furbank and Freddie Steward to the prestigious prize.

Radwan was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in September 2021, alongside a public poll on the Premiership Rugby app, which drew just fewer than 1,000 votes. The judges were: Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Gavin Mairs (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Hugh Godwin (I), Andrew Baldock (Press Association), Bobby Bridge (Coventry Telegraph), John Everly (Bristol Post and Bath Chronicle) Jill Douglas (Broadcaster), Craig Swayne (@BallcarrierRugby), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby's Communications Director.

Winners in the 2021-22 season

September – Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons)

Winners in the 2020-21 season

May – Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
April – Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby)
March- Danny Care (Harlequins)
February – Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
January – Piers O’Conor (Bristol Bears)
December – Alfie Barbeary (Wasps)
November – Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

Winners in the 2019-20 season

August – Jack Willis (Wasps)
May– Paul Hill and Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints)*
April - Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs) *
March – Jamal Ford-Robinson (Gloucester Rugby)*
February – Charles Piutau (Bristol Bears)
January – Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)
December - Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby)
November – Tom O’Flaherty (Exeter Chiefs)

* Gallagher ran public polls while play was suspended to nominate a ‘Community Player of the Month’ in recognition of inspiring off-pitch performances made by players during lockdown to support their local communities and boost the morale of the wider rugby community.

Winners in the 2018-19 season

April – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
March – Santiago Cordero (Exeter Chiefs)
February – Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
December – Cobus Reinach (Northampton Saints)
November – Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby)
October – Alex Goode (Saracens)
September – Danny Cipriani (Gloucester Rugby)

Winners in the 2017-18 season

April – Vereniki Goneva (Newcastle Falcons)
March – Joe Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
February – Jack Willis (Wasps)
December – Josh Adams (Worcester Warriors)
November – Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester Rugby)
October – Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
September – Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Winners in the 2016-17 season

April – Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby)
March – Christian Wade (Wasps)
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)

Winners in the 2015-16 season

April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)

Winners in the 2014-15 season

April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)
March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)
February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)

Winners in the 2013-14 season

April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)
March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)
November - George Ford (Bath Rugby)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)