World Rugby unveil groups and schedule for U20 Championship 2020

The tournament will kick-start on 28th June
The tournament will kick-start on 28th June
©Steve Haag

World Rugby has unveiled the schedule and pools for the 13th edition of U20 Championship that will be played in Italy.

The tournament will kick-start on 28th June and will conclude on 18th June with 12 teams competing for the title.

The sides have been divided into three groups of four teams each with the winners of previous edition France in Pool A along with Argentina, Ireland and Japan.

Pool B comprises of runners up of 2019 tournament Australia along side Wales, New Zealand and Georgia will the final group comprising of South Africa, England, Fiji and Italy.

The games will be played in Verona, Viadana, Parma and Calvisano with the toppers from each group alongside the best runner-up across all the three pools making it to the knock-out stage.

“Every year the World Rugby U20 Championship showcases the most promising young rugby players and we see year after year graduates from the competition succeeding at the highest level," said World Rugby chairman Sir Bill Beaumont.

“Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan featured 228 players who initially represented their country in this tournament and I invite all rugby fans to follow matches closely for the next rugby stars of tomorrow.

“Italy have proved incredible hosts in the past and we are confident rugby strongholds like Viadana, Calvisano, Verona and Parma will deliver the best possible stage for the tournament.”

World Rugby U20 Championship Pools

Pool A - Argentina, France, Ireland, Japan

Pool B - Australia, Georgia, New Zealand, Wales

Pool C - England, Fiji, Italy, South Africa


2019 Rugby World Cup Points Table