TRU's World Cup XV Dream Team


Following the Springboks claiming the men's Rugby World Cup for a historic fourth time, TRU put together their team of the tournament.

1. Ox Nche (South Africa) - Nche proved to be the deciding factor as the competition advanced to the knockout stages, showcasing his formidable scrummaging skills against any opposition.

2. Julian Montoya (Argentina) - The fan favourite narrowly edged out Dan Sheehan with his relentless work ethic, effective turnovers, and dominant tackle count.

3. Ben Tameifuna (Tonga) - The Tongan giant may not have advanced as far as he would have hoped with his team, but he remained an inspirational force with epic performances in every pool match.

4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) - Despite missing out on the World Player of the Year award, this second-row behemoth played a pivotal role in South Africa’s Rugby World Cup success.

5. Scott Barrett (New Zealand) - Breaking up the Brodie Retallick-Sam Whitelock combination is no small feat, but this Barrett brother consistently stood out throughout the tournament.

6. Pieter-Steph du Toit (Springboks) - He delivered a phenomenal performance in the final when it was needed the most. Being named the Player of the Match in a Rugby World Cup-winning game can't be overlooked.

7. Siya Kolisi (South Africa) - Stood out as the inspirational leader, captaining his team to Rugby World Cup glory...again. His journey was not just a victory for South Africa but an inspiration to the entire rugby world.

8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand) - As the World Rugby Player of the Year, Savea is an obvious choice at number 8, displaying remarkable consistency at the highest level of the game.

9. Antoine Dupont (France) - The French captain carried his excellent form from the Six Nations into the Rugby World Cup, commanding and pivotal for Les Bleus, even though we wished we could have seen more of them.

10. Richie Mo'unga (New Zealand) - Mo'unga exudes flair and skill, combined with a calm demeanour that cannot be taught. He skillfully guided the All Blacks past a tenacious Ireland to reach the final.

11. Cheslin Kolbe (South Africa) - A Springbok firecracker picks up another Rugby World Cup winner's medal, Kolbe remained a constant threat in attack and a resolute defender, securing his spot on the wing.

12. Bundee Aki (Ireland) - Aki emerged as one of the standout players at the Rugby World Cup, despite Ireland's early exit, beating other impressive centres like Damian de Allende and Jordie Barrett for the number 12 jersey.

13. Waisea Nayacalevu (Fiji) - Providing fireworks in every performance with an abundance of power and pace, Nayacalevu propelled Fiji to their highest-ever finish in Rugby World Cup history.

14. Will Jordan (New Zealand) - Mark Tele'a narrowly missed out, but Jordan takes the spot with an incredible strike rate and equaling the World Cup record of eight tries.

15. Damian Willemse (South Africa) - Although Hugo Keenan and Thomas Ramos were close contenders, the Springbok playmaker impressed throughout the tournament, adding an extra creative dimension to their attack.