South Africa U20 beat England U20 30-22 in Six Nations Summer Series opener

South Africa U20 scored four tries in their opening game against England
South Africa U20 scored four tries in their opening game against England

England U20 22-30 South Africa U20

South Africa Under 20 side kick-started their Six Nations Under 20 Summer Series campaign with a 30-22 win over England at Verona in Italy on Friday.

The Junior Boks got off to a flying start as a crossfield kick from Sacha Mngomezulu was collected by Suleiman Hartzenber, who went over in the 2nd minute but five minutes later they were down to 14 players as Siya Ningiza was sin-binned.

England made an immediate response as Fin Smith opted for a line out from the resulting penalty, and the red rose team scored off the back of it via hooker John Stewart.

Smith's conversion but England in front but South Africa seized the lead back as scrumhalf Nico Steyn went over following a good work from right wing Donovan Don as the teams went into the break with a 7-10 scoreline.

South Africa extended their momentum into the second half as Hanekom scored his first try in the 45th minute before Smith landed a penalty goal in the 51st minute to bring the gap down to five points.

By the 54th minute Hartzenberg claimed his second score and Mngomezulu's extras made it 10-22. England clawed their way back with a try from Emeka Ilione in the 57th minute and Smith followed with the extras to make it 17-22 before Mngomezulu landed a 60th minute penalty to increase South Africa's lead to eight points.

Reserve hooker Tiaan Lange scored their fifth try to take the score out of reach at 30-17, with England scoring a consolation try at the end as the game finished 30-22 for South Africa.

Team line up:

England U20: 15. George Hendy, 14. Tom Litchfield, 13. Ethan Grayson, 12. Rekeiti Ma’asi-White, 11. Iwan Stephens, 10. Fin Smith, 9. Tom Carr-Smith, 1. Tumy Onasanya, 2. John Stewart, 3. Jevaughn Warren, 4. Ewan Richards, 5. Lewis Chessum, 6. Chandler Cunningham-South, 7. Emeka Ilione (c), 8. Greg Fisilau.

Reserves: 16. Finn Theobald-Thomas, 17. Andrew Turner, 18. Mikey Summerfield, 19. Tom Lockett, 20. Lucas Brooke, 21. Ethan Staddon, 22. Toby Knight, 23. Charlie Bracken, 24. Jed Walsh, 25. Conor Oresanya, 26. Tobi Wilson.

South Africa U20: 15. Koevort, 14. Don, 13. James, 12. Baines, 11. Hartzenberg, 10. Mngomezulu, 9. Steyn, 1. Nunu, 2. Vokozela, 3. Weilbach, 4. Evans, 5. Ludwig, 6. Ningiza, 7. Venter, 8. Hanekom.

Reserves: 16. Lange, 17. Else, 18. Lombard, 19. Rahl, 20, Nel, 21. Khan, 22. Von Ludwig, 23, Nela, 24. Olivier, 25. De Villiers, 26. Moletshe.