Scotland make 13 changes for game against Romania

Grant Gilchrist will be captaining the side for the game against Romania
Grant Gilchrist will be captaining the side for the game against Romania

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has made several changes to the starting line up for the upcoming Pool B encounter against Romania to be played on Saturday.

Townsend has retained only Kyle Steyn and Chris Harris from the side that defeated Tonga. Steyn will move from right wing to left with Darcy Graham starting at 14. Harris will be starting at midfield that also has Cameron Redpath, who replaces Sione Tuipulotu.

Ollie Smith will start at fullback at the expense of Blair Kinghorn while Ben Healy takes over the kicking responsibility with Ali Price forming halfback partnership with them.

Grant Gilchrist will captain the side in second row that also has Sam Skinner while Matt Fagerson starts at number eight with Hamish Watson at openside and Luke Crosbie on the blindside.

Javan Sebastian will be making his first start for Scotland as he packs in the front row that also has Javan Sebastian and Jamie Bhatti. Hooker Johnny Matthews could make his Test debut for Scotland when he comes off the bench.

"Grant brings a lot of our emotion," said Townsend.

"He was vice captain in the opening game [18-3 loss to South Africa] and he'll make sure we are primed and ready to go.

"It's been a bit of a whirlwind for Johnny. The temperature change is probably the biggest shock. He's a great character, really relaxed, and he knows a lot of the players already.

"It's a great game for him to come off the bench and show his strengths. I'm sure he'll get opportunities to carry."

Scotland: 15 Ollie Smith, 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Kyle Steyn, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Ali Price, 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Luke Crosbie, 5 Grant Gilchrist (c), 4 Sam Skinner, 3 Javan Sebastian, 2 Ewan Ashman, 1 Jamie Bhatti

Reserves: 16 Johnny Matthews, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 WP Nel, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Rory Darge, 21 George Horne, 22 Blair Kinghorn, 23 Huw Jones