SANZAAR announces tri-nation Rugby Championship schedule following South Africa's withdrawal

Australia will face New Zealand in the tournament opener
Australia will face New Zealand in the tournament opener

SANZAAR has unveiled the fixtures for the revised Rugby Championship following the decision of South Africa Rugby to withdraw from the tournament.

The Springboks have pulled out of the tournament due to the Covid-19 restrictions and believe their player welfare is at risk which meant SANZAAR had to announce a new schedule involving New Zealand, host Australia and Argentina.

While New Zealand and Australia have already got the Bledisloe Cup underway, Argentina players currently undergoing mandatory quarantine period in Sydney.

According to the new schedule, Australia will lock horns with New Zealand in the tournament opener on 31st October at ANZ Stadium in Sydney following which the two teams will once again face each other on 7th November at Suncorp Stadium.

Argentina will be in action in the next four games that will be played at Bankwest Stadium in Sydney and McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

“COVID is just a gift that keeps on giving! Naturally, it is extremely disappointing that the Springboks, due to the continued complexities of operating in and around this COVID environment, cannot fully compete in the previously planned six-round Rugby Championship," said SANZAAR chief executive Andy Marinos.

"That said this now presents us with a unique opportunity, in this our 25th year, to close off 2020 with a fully-fledged Tri-Nations Competition.

“SANZAAR recognises the challenges and adversity that the national unions have had to face this year due to the pandemic.

"It is a tribute to the Unions in how they have been able to adapt and, dependent on COVID restrictions, run domestic competitions with the exception of Argentina who has been impacted the hardest through their lockdown.

"These short domestic tournaments, and in Argentina’s case no domestic competition, are not the normal lead into an international playing window, and while it has been a far from ideal preparation we look forward to an exciting and vibrant Tr-Nations tournament.”

Schedule for Tri-Nations Rugby Championship:

October 31: Australia v New Zealand (ANZ Stadium, Sydney)
November 7: Australia v New Zealand (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)
November 14: New Zealand v Argentina (Bankwest Stadium, Sydney)
November 21: Argentina v Australia (McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle)
November 28: Argentina v New Zealand (McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle)
December 5: Australia v Argentina (Bankwest Stadium, Sydney)

The Rugby Championship Fixtures & Results


The Rugby Championship Points Table