Match Report: Bledisloe Cup: New Zealand 27-7 Australia

Aaron Smith scored the opening try for New Zealand
Aaron Smith scored the opening try for New Zealand

New Zealand 27-7 Australia, Eden Park

New Zealand came up with a four-try performance as they went on to beat Australia 27-7 in the second Bledisloe Cup at Eden Park in Auckland on Sunday.

The result means New Zealand take a 1-0 lead in the four-match series after the first game in Wellington ended in a draw. The two teams will now lock horns with each other in the opening two rounds of the Rugby Championship on 31st October and 7th November respectively with Australia needing to win both to end their drought in the Bledisloe Cup with their previous title win coming way back in 2002.

The All Blacks managed to hold off early pressure from Australia which ended without a point before Richie Mo'unga got New Zealand opened the mark with a penalty goal in the 19th minute.

The first try in the game came in the 23rd minute when Jack Goodhue built for Aaron Smith to touchdown that Mo'unga improved to take them to 10 unanswered points.

Australia managed to claw their way back into the game after Ned Hanigan set up Marika Koroibete over the line and James O'Connor kicked the extras as the opening half ended with a 10-7 lead for Ian Foster's men.

The All Blacks looked dominant in the second half with Mo'unga setting up Jordie Barrett over the line in the 43rd minute and three minutes later it was Ardie Savea's turn to dot down as they increased their lead to 20-7.

The 54th minute saw New Zealand skipper Sam Cane joining the scoring sheet after he gathered a pass from Patrick Tuipulotu to crossover and Mo'unga improved it to finish the game with a 20 point win.

Teams line-up:

New Zealand: B Barrett; J Barrett, Lienert-Brown, Goodhue, Clarke; Mo'unga, Smith; Savea, Cane, Frizell; Vaa'i, Tuipulotu; Tuungafasi, Coles, Moody.

Reserves: Taylor, Hodgman, Laulala, Scott Barrett, Sotutu, Perenara, Umaga-Jensen, McKenzie.

Australia: Banks; Daugunu, Paisami, To'omua, Koroibete; O'Connor, White; Wilson, Hooper, Hanigan; Philip, Salakaia-Loto; Tupou, Paenga-Amosa, Slipper.

Reserves: Uelese, Sio, Alaalatoa, Simmons, Wright, Gordon, Petaia, Hodge.

New Zealand Fixtures


New Zealand Results