Match Centre: Australia 7-38 New Zealand

Codie Taylor was one of the try scorer for New Zealand
Codie Taylor was one of the try scorer for New Zealand
©Steve Haag

Australia 7-38 New Zealand, Melbourne

New Zealand have ran six tries as they defeated Australia 38-7 in Melbourne to claim the Rugby Championship title and the Bledisloe Cup.

The Wallabies put on a strong fight in the first 30 minutes as they held a 7-5 lead but Ian Foster's men dominated the last 50 minutes to hand the home side their third defeat in the competition since Eddie Jones took over.

New Zealand made a promising start as Scott Barrett's aggression saw Tate McDermott lose possession as Shannon Frizell seized the advantage to touchdown but Richie Mo’unga misses out on the conversion.

The Wallabies immediately struck back as Rob Valetini crossed over after they worked through phases and the try was awarded after a consultation with the TMO and Carter Gordon starting at fly-half for first time kicked the extras to make it 7-5.

Australia missed a chance to extend the lead as Gordon's penalty kick drifted wide following an infringement from New Zealand at breakdown and in the 25th minute they were reduced to 14 players temporarily with Marika Koroibete sin-binned for a deliberate offside.

The extra player advantage was the catalyst New Zealand needed as they finished the opening half strong with tries from Codie Taylor and Will Jordan as they headed into the break with a 7-19 lead.

Infringements continued to haunt the Wallabies as Taniela Tupou became the second player to be yellow carded for a dangerous tackle and Caleb Clarke crossed the whitewash and Mark Telea followed the suit after collecting an offload from Jordan to make it 7-31.

With 14 minutes left in the game, New Zealand scored their sixth try as Telea offloaded to Rieko Ioane and Mo'unga kicked the extras to complete a 21-point victory.

Team line up:

New Zealand XV: 1 Ethan de Groot, 2 Codie Taylor, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 4 Brodie Retallick, 5 Scott Barrett, 6 Shannon Frizell, 7 Dalton Papali’i, 8 Ardie Savea (captain), 9 Aaron Smith, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 11 Mark Telea, 12 Jordie Barrett, 13 Rieko Ioane, 14 Will Jordan, 15 Beauden Barrett.

Reserves: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Samuel Whitelock, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 Cam Roigard, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 Caleb Clarke.

Australia XV: 1 Angus Bell, 2 David Porecki, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (captain), 4 Nick Frost, 5 Will Skelton, 6 Jed Holloway, 7 Tom Hooper, 8 Rob Valetini, 9 Tate McDermott, 10 Carter Gordon, 11 Marika Koroibete, 12 Samu Kerevi, 13 Jordan Petaia, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 15 Andrew Kellaway.

Reserves: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 James Slipper, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Nic White, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Izaia Perese.