Match Centre: Australia 17-21 England

Marcus Smith scored England's second try
Marcus Smith scored England's second try

Australia 17-21 England, Sydney

Freddie Steward and Marcus Smith scored tries as England edged out Australia 21-17 in the final Test in Sydney on Saturday to claim the three-game series 2-1.

Australia had a 10-3 for most part of the opening half but Steward's try with penalties on either side from Owen Farrell meant England went into the break with a slender one point lead to set the tone for the second half.

The result also meant now England have won their second successive series down under after previously whitewashing them in the 2016 series when Eddie Jones took in charge.

The opening points at the Sydney Cricket Ground came in the 18th minute with Farrell kicking his first penalty goal after Australia were penalised for not rolling away.

The Wallabies responded back in the 24th minute as Marika Koroibete broke the England defence and combined with Nic White to send Tom Wright over the line and Noah Lolesio kicked the conversion to make it 7-3. Lolesio also followed with a penalty goal in the 31st minute to extend the Wallabies lead to seven points.

A second penalty kick from Farrell in the 34th minute made it 10-6 before Tommy Freeman got England close as he was stopped, Jack Van Poortvliet sent a pass for Steward to dot down. Farrell got the conversion right as the teams completed the opening half with a 10-11 lead.

England continued to attack and earned a penalty which Farrell kicked to perfection early in the second half to increase their lead to four points before they capitalised on the fumble from Lolesio allowing Smith to speed past the line that Farrell converted to make it 10-21.

Australia launched desperate attack at the end but England managed to hold them until Folau Fainga'a powered his way over in the 66th minute but the hosts could not find any further breakthrough as Jones' men sealed the series with a four-point victory.

Team line up:

Australia: Hodge, Wright, Paisami, Kerevi, Koroibete, Lolesio, White, Valetini, Hooper (capt), Wilson, Philip, Frost, Tupou, Porecki, Slipper.

Reserves: Fainga'a, Bell, Ala'alatoa, Leota, Samu, McDermott, Ikitau, Vunivalu.

England: Steward, Nowell, Porter, Farrell, Freeman, Smith, Care, B Vunipola, Ludlam, Lawes (capt), Hill, Chessum, Stuart, George, Genge.

Reserves: Cowan-Dickie, M Vunipola, Heyes, Isiekwe, Willis, Van Poortvliet, Joseph, Arundell.