England Women name 36-member training squad

England Women head coach Simon Middleton
England Women head coach Simon Middleton

England Women head coach Simon Middleton has named a 36-member squad for the four-training camp that kicks-off at Loughborough University on Thursday.

Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Sarah McKenna (Saracens), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries) and Millie Wood (Gloucester-Hartpury) have all returned to 15s set up after being part of the sevens programme last season.

Gloucester-Hartpury lock Zoe Aldcroft has been named for the first time this year after she last played for the red rose team during the 2017 World Cup while uncapped Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies) and centres Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning) and Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury) are also part of the squad.

“The training camp in Loughborough is our first opportunity to get the squad together this season. With the Quilter Internationals fast approaching, we will be looking to lay down expectations and introduce Richard Blaze as forwards coach to the squad as a whole," said Middleton.

“This is a really exciting time for the team and I will be looking for players to lay down markers and stake their claim for selection in the Quilter Internationals. We are continuing to evolve and grow and I look forward to getting out on the pitch and training underway.”

England will face USA Women, Canada Women and Ireland Women in their Quilter Internationals on 9th, 18th and 24th November respectively with Allianz Park, Castle Park and Twickenham being the venues.

England Women Training Squad:

Forwards: Sasha Acheson (Gloucester-Hartpury), Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury), Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo), Hannah Botterman (Saracens), Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning), Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins), Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC), Poppy Cleall (Saracens), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins), Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning), Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Justine Lucas (Loughborough Lightning), Catherine O'Donnell (Loughborough Lightning), Marlie Packer (Saracens), Ellena Perry (Saracens), Connie Powell (Gloucester-Hartpury), Abbie Scott (Harlequins)

Backs: Lucy Attwood (Bristol Bears), Racheal Burford (Harlequins), Katy Daly-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning), Abby Dow (Wasps FC Ladies), Ellie Green (Harlequins), Zoe Harrison (Saracens), Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury), Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies), Caity Mattinson (Bristol Bears), Sarah McKenna (Saracens), Charlotte Pearce (Loughborough Lightning), Amber Reed (Bristol Bears), Leanne Riley (Harlequins), Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries), Millie Wood (Gloucester-Hartpury), Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)

Unavailable through injury: Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears) and Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears)