England name unchanged side for clash against Wales

Jamie George started his England captaincy with a win over Italy
Jamie George will lead the team out at Twickenham for the first time as captain this weekend

England have named an unchanged side for Saturday's Six Nations clash against Wales at Twickenham.

This is the first time since the 2019 Rugby World Cup final that England have gone with the same XV while the original bench which was selected ahead of last week's 27-24 victory over Italy has been retained.

Ellis Genge has recovered from a foot injury to take his spot amongst the replacements while Marcus Smith, Ollie Lawrence and Manu Tuilagi continue to remain on the sidelines.

Genge will be joined by Exeter wing Immanuel Feyi-Waboso on the bench alongside Theo Dan, Dan Cole, Alex Coles, Chandler Cunningham-South, Danny Care and Fin Smith.

"It was both pleasing and important to have started our Six Nations campaign in Rome with a victory," said Borthwick.

"However, we know there are areas of our game to improve as we prepare for this Saturday's game against a spirited Wales team.

"With a new player group and a number of new caps, we have tried to develop our game on both sides of the ball. Such changes take time, and I was pleased how quickly the players settled and adapted last weekend against Italy.

"We're delighted to be back playing in front of a sold-out Twickenham Stadium this Saturday. The visit of the Wales team is always a fixture that creates a special atmosphere.

"I have no doubt that this group of players are relishing the challenge before them and are looking forward to creating a very special experience for our supporters."

England XV: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Tommy Freeman, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Fraser Dingwall, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Alex Mitchell; 1 Joe Marler, 2 Jamie George (c), 3 Will Stuart, 4 Maro Itoje, 5 Ollie Chessum, 6 Ethan Roots, 7 Sam Underhill, 8 Ben Earl.

Reserves: 16 Theo Dan, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Alex Coles, 20 Chandler Cunningham-South, 21 Danny Care, 22 Fin Smith, 23 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso.