England name six uncapped players in squad for summers series

Ollie Sleightholme is part of the England squad
Ollie Sleightholme is part of the England squad

England head coach Steve Borthwick has named six uncapped players for the upcoming summer series clashes against Japan and New Zealand.

Northampton wing Ollie Sleightholme joins the squad after impressive performances for the club this season as they clinched the Premiership title with a win over Bath and is joined by Harlequins duo prop Fin Baxter and centre Luke Northmore.

Tom Roebuck and Joe Carpenter from Sale Sharks and Bristol's Gabriel Oghre complete the remaining list of uncapped players which was named at Twickenham on Monday.

Veteran fly-half George Ford will miss the series due to injury with Marcus Smith and Fin Smith are set to compete for the number 10 jersey. Borthwick has also handed recall to Bevan Rodd and Tom Curry, who have recovered from their respective injuries.

Ellis Genge continues to remain on the sidelines due to injury with Ben Spencer rewarded for his performance in the recently concluded season guiding Bath to the Premiership final with Alex Mitchell and Harry Randall being the other scrum-halves.

“For some of the younger players, it will be their first time touring abroad with England,” said Borthwick.

“Travelling together is a great way to build closer bonds and provides an important opportunity for new players to settle into our environment.

“With the changes in climate, playing conditions and contrasting styles of rugby from the two opponents we face, we will be challenged on and off the field.

“New Zealand’s home record is well documented, and we face a team who came within one point of winning a World Cup.

“Historically it is not a place England have had much success, but we are determined to change that. The players know that they will need to be mentally strong and tactically smart if we are to get the results we want.”

England squad:

Forwards: Fin Baxter, Dan Cole, Alex Coles, Chandler Cunningham-South, Ben Curry, Tom Curry, Theo Dan, Alex Dombrandt, Ben Earl, Charlie Ewels, Jamie George, Joe Heyes, Maro Itoje, Joe Marler, George Martin, Gabriel Oghre, Bevan Rodd, Ethan Roots, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill

Backs: Joe Carpenter, Fraser Dingwall, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, Tommy Freeman, George Furbank, Ollie Lawrence, Alex Mitchell, Luke Northmore, Harry Randall, Tom Roebuck, Henry Slade, Ollie Sleightholme, Fin Smith, Marcus Smith, Ben Spencer, Freddie Steward