Danny Cipriani wins the Premiership Rugby Player of the Season award

Danny Cipriani also won RPA's Player of the Season Award
Danny Cipriani also won RPA's Player of the Season Award

Gloucester fly-half Danny Cipriani has added another accolade after being named the Premiership Player of the Season.

Despite an indifferent start to his Gloucester career, the 31-year-old put on consistent performances helping the Cherry and Whites to a third place finish in the Gallagher Premiership table.

The England international tops the table for most try assist this season at 13 and becomes the second player after Jimmy Goppereth to win both the Premiership Player of the Season and the RPA Player's Player of the Season awards in the same year.

Sale's Faf De Klerk, Saracens' Alex Goode, Northampton's Cobus Reinach, Exeter's Matt Kvesic and Bristol's Steven Luatua were the other players to have been nominated for the prestigious award.

Cipriani hasn't played for England since June 2018 but Gloucester head coach Johan Ackermann believes he is among the best fly-half he has seen.

"He's probably got the best skill I've seen from a fly-half from an attacking point of view," he said.

"He can kick well and he's extremely fast. He knows what he wants in attack and his distribution is top class.

"You have to adapt to the style of the team and the coaches involved, and I can only speak highly of Danny's commitment to the team

"He's set up into the culture, he's open and of course he's made a serious impact on the field."

Mark McCall went on to win the Director of Rugby Award of the season after guiding Saracens to a European title and will also be in contention for a domestic double as they face Gloucester in the play-off.

Ollie Thorley won the try of the season award for his touchdown during the round seven clash against Leicester Tigers while Sale's Denny Solomona and Northampton's Reinach shared the award for top try-scorer with 12. Richard Wigglesworth also won special recognition for surpassing Steve Borthwick to become Premiership's all-time record appearance maker while Leicester's George Ford won the Golden Boot for amassing 201 points this season.

Premiership Dream Team picked by BT Sport:

Alex Goode (Saracens); Santiago Cordero (Exeter), Henry Slade (Exeter), Mark Atkinson (Gloucester), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester); Danny Cipriani (Gloucester), Cobus Reinach (Northampton); Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Jamie George (Saracens), John Afoa (Bristol), Franco Mostert (Gloucester), Will Skelton (Saracens), Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins), Tom Curry (Sale), Matt Kvesic (Exeter).