Black Ferns announce list of contracted players

New Zealand has announced the 34 contracted players
New Zealand has announced the 34 contracted players

New Zealand Rugby have announced a list of 34 contracted Black Ferns players as they look to strengthen their preparations towards the 2025 Rugby World Cup.

The list includes Grace Gago, Katelyn Vahaakolo, Layla Sae, Lucy Jenkins, Mererangi Paul and Rosie Kelly, who were awarded first fulltime Black Ferns contracts. The board also confirmed that Ruby Tui will rejoin the squad later this year.

"We have a balance of youth and experience among the group who we believe can take this team to another level, which is exciting for the future of the Black Ferns," coach Allan Bunting said.

"A number of players stood out in Super Rugby Aupiki and now have the opportunity to further their growth and do that at the next level.

"For this group, it is now time to refocus and look at what it really means to be a Black Fern, build off what was achieved, strive to be better on and off the field, and enjoy the journey."

The squad will undergo training camps in Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Wellington and Christchurch.

Black Ferns squad:

Alana Bremner, Amy Du Plessis, Amy Rule, Georgia Ponsonby, Grace Brooker, Grace Steinmetz, Kendra Reynolds, Pip Love, Renee Holmes, Rosie Kelly, Lucy Jenkins, Ariana Bayler, Charmaine McMenamin, Grace Gago, Katelyn Vahaakolo, Liana Mikaele-Tu’u, Sylvia Brunt, Patricia Maliepo, Ruahei Demant, Maiakawanakaulani Roos, Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu, Awhina Tangen-Wainohu, Chelsea Bremner, Hazel Tubic, Kelsie Thwaites, Mererangi Paul, Santo Taumata, Tanya Kalounivale, Kennedy Simon, Luka Connor, Ayesha Leti-I’iga, Joanah Ngan-Woo, Krystal Murray, Layla Sae.