South Africa recall Pollard, Cronje and Leyds for clash against Wallabies

Allister Coetzee is wary of the challenge from Australia
Allister Coetzee is wary of the challenge from Australia

South Africa head coach Allister Coetzee has recalled Handre Pollard, Ross Cronje and Dillyn Leyds in the squad ahead of the Rugby Championship clash against Australia to be played on Saturday at NIB Stadium.

Pollard last played for the Springboks in October 2015 and has successfully recovered from an ankle injury. He has replaced Curwin Bosch in the squad that played against Argentina.

Scrum-half Cronje, who has played just three Tests for South Africa missed the clash against Argentina at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium due to an ankle injury but has made sufficient progress to be considered for the game against Wallabies, while fullback Leyds, who made his debut during the June internationals this year has taken the place of Francois Venter.

“Handré was really impressive during the two weeks he spent with us in Port Elizabeth. Even though he was fit and available for the away match against Argentina in Salta, we made a decision that another week of conditioning will be beneficial for him," said Coetzee.

“I believe he is fit and ready to go and he will be utilised in a versatile role, covering centre too. He is the kind of player that really thrives in the Springbok environment and is very coachable. It must be said that he also made huge improvement in terms of his skill levels and the understanding of this team’s technical plan.

“Curwin has grown a lot during his time with us, and all our coaches are pleased with his current development. He knows what is expected of him in this environment, and like I said before, it is my responsibility to manage him properly at international level.

“We would like to see him carry the confidence he has gained during his time with Springboks into the Currie Cup".

South Africa currently top the Rugby Championship table after winning both their games against Argentina and are closely followed by All Blacks at second (due to points difference).

South Africa squad for game against Australia:

Forwards: Uzair Cassiem, Lood de Jager, Ruan Dreyer, Dan du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth (captain), Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle

Backs: Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Handre Pollard, Raymond Rhule, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan


Springboks Fixtures


Springboks Results


South Africa Squad