Lavanini infringements prove costly for Argentina as South Africa seal 23-41 win

Siya Kolisi starred for South Africa
Siya Kolisi starred for South Africa

Argentina 23-41 South Africa, Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium

Siya Kolisi scored a double while Elton Jantjies contributed with 19 points as South Africa managed to beat Argentina for the second time in the Rugby Championship 2017 tournament with a 23-41 margin at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium on Saturday.

The win for Springboks was greatly aided by a sin bin and a red card to Tomas Lavanini in the 8th and 56th minutes respectively.

Wing Emiliano Boffelli kicked a third minute to get Argentina off the mark but they suffered a setback when Lavanini was sin-binned five minutes later. Kolisi replied back with a try of his own that came in the 19th minute as South Africa raced to a four point lead following the conversion from Jantjies.

The game was evenly poised when Ramiro Moyano Joya crossed over for the home side but Jantjies completely dominated the remainder of the first half with a penalty followed by a converted try that came after a sin-bin to Juan Manuel Leguizamon. South Africa had a lead of 10-17 at halfway mark.

Fly-half Juan Martin Hernandez reduced the gap between the two teams to four points with a penalty at the start of the second half but Kolisi's second try provided Springboks a breathing space with a second try in the game as the gap widened to 11 points.

Argentina's suffered a major setback as Lavanini was sent-off in the 56th minute and things went from bad to worse for the Pumas as a penalty try was awarded to Springboks.

Argentina did make a minor comeback when replacement Matias Moroni strolled past the post while Nicholas Sanchez and Boffelli added a conversion and a penalty as the gap came down to eight points at the end of the third quarter.

However, having to deal with one man short proved too much for Argentina Jean-Luc du Preez strolling past the post and completing a 23-41 win for the visitors.


Springboks Fixtures


Springboks Results


South Africa Squad