New Zealand 7s confirm squad for Hamilton leg of World Rugby Sevens Series

New Zealand's Amanaki Nicole in action during the Cape Town 7s
New Zealand's Amanaki Nicole in action during the Cape Town 7s
©Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

New Zealand have named their squad for the Hamilton leg of HSBC World Rugby Sevens series that kicks off on 26th January.

Tim Mikkelson, who missed the first two rounds has returned back to the squad along with Joe Ravouvou as New Zealand will aim to win the tournament for the 10th time since it's inception in 2000.

Fiji, though, are the current defending champions after they managed to beat South Africa 24-17 in the final at Waikato Stadium last year.

“Obviously we picked up some injuries through Dubai and Cape Town so to have those guys back fit, healthy and available for selection for a home tournament is encouraging," said head coach Clark Laidlaw told

“We’re as close to full strength as you can get and we’re really excited about putting that squad on the field.

"There are a few guys that haven’t played much rugby since the World Cup so we need to train right and get into day one well prepared and hopefully build through the tournament as we go".

USA 7s currently top the overall standings with 38 points after their consistent performances in the Dubai and Cape Town legs and are closely followed by New Zealand and Fiji with 37 and 35 points respectively.

New Zealand 7s squad:

Kurt Baker, Dylan Collier, Scott Curry (captain), Sam Dickson, Scott Gregory, Andrew Knewstubb, Vilimoni Koroi, Tim Mikkelson, Sione Molia, Jona Nareki, Amanaki Nicole, Joe Ravouvou, Tone Ng Shiu, Regan Ware.


Rio Olympics Men's 7s - points table