Four uncapped players in Scotland's squad to face Samoa

Gregor Townsend has announced his squad for the autumn internationals
Gregor Townsend has announced his squad for the autumn internationals

Scotland have included four uncapped players in their squad to face Samoa in the opening game of the autumn internationals to be played at Murrayfield Stadium on Saturday.

Edinburgh's Darryl Marfo has been handed a start while Glasgow Warriors' George Turner and Jamie Bhatti along with Newcastle Falcons' Chris Harris are named among the replacements and could make their debut off the bench.

With injuries to Fraser Brown and Ross Ford, Stuart McInally gets his fourth start for the Dark Blues. Huw Jones has regained full fitness and will start in the back-line while Ben Toolis joins Jonny Gray in the second row.

Finn Russell has been assigned the fly-half and will start alongside scrum-half Ali Price with Alex Dunbar joining Jones at centre. Lee Jones, Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg will form the back three in the line-up captained by John Barclay in the absence of Greig Laidlaw.

"It’s great that four players could make their international debuts this weekend," said head coach Gregor Townsend.

"They have earned this call through their performances for their clubs and the energy they have trained with over the past couple of weeks.

"All of our squad is excited by the prospect of representing their country in front of a packed BT Murrayfield this Saturday."

Scotland will face Samoa, New Zealand and Australia in their November Tests campaign with all the games scheduled to be played at Murrayfield Stadium.

Scotland line-up to face Samoa:

Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones, Alex Dunbar, Lee Jones, Finn Russell, Ali Price (all Glasgow Warriors); Darryl Marfo, Stuart McInally, WP Nel, Ben Toolis (all Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow), Barclay (captain - Scarlets), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow).

Replacements: George Turner, Jamie Bhatti, Zander Fagerson, Tim Swinson (all Glasgow), Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh), Henry Pyrgos, Peter Horne (both Glasgow), Chris Harris (Newcastle).

Scotland Fixtures


Scotland Results


Scotland Squad