Seven uncapped players in South Africa line-up to face Wales

Rassie Erasmus has confirmed the line-up for game against Wales
Rassie Erasmus has confirmed the line-up for game against Wales

South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus has confirmed the line-up for the upcoming Test against Wales to be played at RFK Stadium on Saturday.

The XV contains as many as seven uncapped players including the likes of Travis Ismaiel, Makazole Mapimpi, Andre Esterhuizen, Ivan van Zyl, Kwagga Smith, Jason Jenkins and Ox Nche.and it will be lock Pieter-Steph du Toit, who will lead the side for the first time.

"As coaches, we are tremendously excited about the prospect of seeing some of our best young players getting the opportunity to play at this level," said Erasmus.

"Wales have a very solid and effective kicking strategy and their cohesive forward and set-piece play are some of their main strong points. However, I do believe that we have picked a match-day squad that will be able to compete very strongly."

A further six uncapped players are present on the bench as Erasmus takes a total of a 26-man squad for their trip to Washington ahead of the three-game Test series against England which kicks-off on 9th June.

South Africa side to face Wales: Curwin Bosch, Travis Ismaiel, Jesse Kriel, Andre Esterhuizen, Makazole Mapimpi, Elton Jantjies, Ivan van Zyl, Ox Nche Chiliboy Ralepelle, Wilco Louw, Jason Jenkins, Pieter-Steph du Toit (c), Kwagga Smith, Oupa Mohoje, Dan du Preez.

Replacements: Akker van der Merwe, Steven Kitshoff, Thomas du Toit, Marvin Orie, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Embrose Papier, Robert du Preez, Warrick Gelant.


Springboks Fixtures


Springboks Results


South Africa Squad