Scotland name unchanged line-up for England clash

Gregor Townsend has named an unchanged starting line-up
Gregor Townsend has named an unchanged starting line-up

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named an unchanged line-up for the upcoming Six Nations clash against England scheduled to be played at BT Murrayfield on Saturday.

The Dark Blues bounced back from the 34-7 defeat they suffered to Wales in the opening game with a 32-26 triumph over France in the second round and Townsend has rewarded the XV with another chance to prove their mettle against the defending champions.

Finn Russell will remain the designated number 10 for Scotland and Greig Laidlaw, who came up with a match-winning performance against France has been retained at scrum-half.

WP Nel, who returned from a broken arm has managed to find a place on the bench along with Tim Swinson. Nick Grigg also is named among the replacements after his impressive performance for Glasgow Warriors last weekend.

“The players put a huge amount of effort into our win over France. They found a way to win and kept attacking the opposition up until the final whistle.

“England are the number two side in the world and have shown a very good level of consistency in the past couple of seasons.

“Taking on England is going to be a huge challenge and we are well aware that only our very best will be good enough in this fixture.”

The last time Scotland had defeated England at Murrayfield was way back in 2008 with the last four clashes at the venue ending in three wins for the red rose team and a draw.

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones, Peter Horne (all Glasgow), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Finn Russell (Glasgow), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne); Gordon Reid (London Irish), Stuart McInally, Simon Berghan, Grant Gilchrist (all Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow), John Barclay (Scarlets, capt), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow).

Replacements: Scott Lawson (Newcastle), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), Tim Swinson (Glasgow), Dave Denton (Worcester), Ali Price, Nick Grigg (both Glasgow), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh).

Rugby and Art collide at

Scotland Fixtures


Scotland Results


Scotland Squad