England leave out Mike Brown for autumn international opener against South Africa

Mike Brown has played 72 Tests for England
Mike Brown has played 72 Tests for England

England coach Eddie Jones has dropped experienced full-back Mike Brown in the 25-man squad for the upcoming autumn international opening clash against South Africa to be played at Twickenham Stadium on 3rd November.

The Harlequins star who featured in all the three Tests against the Boks during the June series will return home from the Portugal camp along with Ben Morgan.

Brown's absence means Elliot Daly is likely to be slotted at fullback allowing Jonny May and Jack Nowell on the wings while Zach Mercer is in line to make his international debut.

England forwards coach Steve Borthwick said the team management wants to explore options beyond the 72-capped Brown.

"He's a top quality player, and we know that, he's been brilliant over this last period of time," said Borthwick.

"But we have got options."

Joe Cokanasiga, Alex Lozowski and Richard Wigglesworth, Michael Rhodes, Sam Underhill and Nick Schonert along with apprentice player Ted Hill are the others released ahead of the Saturday's clash.

England squad to face South Africa:

Forwards: Tom Curry, Charlie Ewels, Jamie George, Dylan Hartley co-captain, Alec Hepburn, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Zach Mercer, Ben Moon, Brad Shields, Kyle Sinckler, Elliott Stooke, Harry Williams, Mark Wilson

Backs: Chris Ashton, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell co-captain, George Ford, Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Ben Te'o, Manu Tuilagi, Ben Youngs

England Fixtures


England Results


England Squad