Northampton Saints confirm squad for Premiership Rugby 7s

Franklin's Gardens will host the upcoming edition of Premiership Rugby 7s
Franklin's Gardens will host the upcoming edition of Premiership Rugby 7s

Northampton Saints have confirmed the squad for the upcoming Premiership 7s competition to be played at Franklin's Gardens on 27th and 28th July.

The squad will be captained by Rory Hutchinson with Tom Emery, Ollie Sleightholme, Devante Onojaife, and Fraser Strachan all featuring for the second consecutive season with the Saints 7s.

“This is a superb opportunity for the Club to start the season off strongly and for all of these young players involved to put their hands up to the first-team coaches,” said Saints Academy head coach Mark Hopley.

“The 7s Cup is the first piece of silverware on offer for all 12 Premiership Rugby clubs season and of course everyone wants to win it.

“We’re focused now on our preparations for the next couple of days and on ensuring we play really entertaining rugby for what we’re sure will be a raucous home crowd here at Franklin’s Gardens.”

Players from the U18 squad Tyler Mills (Northampton School for Boys), Morgan Dayes (Samuel Whitbread), Ollie Newman (Cambridge), and Josh Gillespie (Millfield) has also been named in the squad for the first time in the senior side.

Hutchinson expressed satisfaction with the pre-season work and is now looking forward to lead the side as they aim to win their maiden title at Premiership 7s.

“It’s a great privilege for us to be hosting the 7s at home again this year.

“Obviously we’ve had a fresh start as a squad this preseason, with new coaching and new players coming in, but now we’re really looking forward to playing in the 7s.

“Everyone wants to pull on the Black, Green and Gold jersey as much as possible – that’s why we play the sport – and we’ve got a really good bunch of players involved who want to perform.”

Northampton Saints are pooled in Group A along with back to back champions Wasps and Gloucester.

Northampton Saints squad:

Paddy Ryan, Connor Tupai, Fraser Strachan, Josh Gillespie, Morgan Dayes, Ollie Newman, Joe Wallace, Devante Onojaife, Tom Emery, Tyler Mills, Ollie Sleightholme, Rory Hutchinson (captain)


Rio Olympics Men's 7s - points table