London Irish reveal squad, back-room staff for 2017/18 season

London Irish announce squad for 2017/18 season
London Irish announce squad for 2017/18 season

London Irish have confirmed their squad ahead of their Aviva Premiership return in the 2017/18 season.

The squad has 11 new additions including Scotland prop Gordon Reid, ex-Saracens prop Petrus Du Plessis and Fijian international winger Napolioni Nalaga.

Georgian international Lasha Lomidze and Super Rugby winner Jake Schatz bolster the back row, while Samoan international prop Manasa Saulo, and Australian capped hooker Saia Fainga’a compete for a place in the front row.

Teofilo Paulo and Luke McLean make a switch from Benetton Treviso to the Exiles while scrum-half Ben Meehan will also feature for the Madejski Stadium outfit in the upcoming season along with former Gloucester hooker Darren Dawidiuk.

Former England fly-half Charlie Hodgson, Matthew Ferguson and Mike Roberts. are assigned the roles of kicking coach, scrum coach and psychologist respectively.

London Irish rugby director Nick Kennedy is pleased with the preparations leading to the upcoming season.

“We’re really looking forward to the challenge of playing in the Aviva Premiership and the lads are working extremely hard to get themselves ready for the start of the season,” said Kennedy.

“We know how competitive the Premiership will be and are working to be at our very best week in, week out.

“Our supporters were fantastic last season and I know they will be even more vocal with their unwavering support up and down the country this campaign.”

London Irish squad:


Lovejoy Chawatama, Mike Coman, Blair Cowan*, Sebastian De Chaves, Darren Dawidiuk, Petrus Du Plessis, Harry Elrington, Saia Fainga’a*, Ben Franks*, Conor Gilsenan, Todd Gleave, Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, Ollie Hoskins, Will Lloyd, Lasha Lomidze*, Josh McNally, Senitiki Nayalo, Max Northcote Green, David Paice*, Richard Palframan, Teofilo Paulo*, Dave Porecki, Gordon Reid*, Manasa Saulo*, Jake Schatz, Tom Smallbone, Ofisa Treviranus*


Tommy Bell, Theo Brophy Clews, Joe Cokanasiga, Tom Fowlie, Ciaran Hearn*, Alex Lewington, James Marshall, Brendan McKibbin, Luke McLean*, Ben Meehan, Fergus Mulchrone, Napolioni Nalaga*, Topsy Ojo*, Ben Ransom, Scott Steele, Aseli Tikoirotuma*, Greig Tonks*, Johnny Williams

*Denotes internationals