Force thrash Waratahs 40-11 to finish second in Australian Conference

Bernard Foley finished on the losing side for Waratahs
Bernard Foley finished on the losing side for Waratahs

Force 40-11 Waratahs, NIB Stadium

Force came up with a five-try performance as they thrashed Waratahs in the final round of Super Rugby 2017 season with a 40-11 triumph at NIB Stadium on Saturday.

The result also means Force managed to claim the second position in Australian Conference in which Waratahs finished fourth.

Alex Newsome and Tatafu Polota-Nau scored tries in the first 11 minutes with the second one coming after a sin bin to Tatafu Polota-Nau.

A couple of penalties from Bernard Foley reduced the gap to eight points but touchdowns from Marcel Brache and Jono Lance ensured the hosts ended the first half with a 26-6 scoreline.

Matt Hodgson further extended Force's lead by another five points with an early try in the second half while Lance slotted three additional penalties to take the tally to 40 point.

Waratahs' only response in the second half came with a try from Hugh Roach that reduced their losing margin to 29 points.

Super Rugby 2016 - Points Table


Super Rugby 2015 - Points Table


Super Rugby 2014 - Points Table