Australia include five uncapped players for June series

David Pocock has returned back to Australia line-up
David Pocock has returned back to Australia line-up

Australia head coach Michael Cheika has included five uncapped players in the 32-man squad for the upcoming June series against Ireland.

Melbourne Rebels' Jack Maddocks has been rewarded for his Super Rugby form while Brumbies hooker Folau Fainga'a and fullback Tom Banks along with Queensland Reds duo Caleb Timu and Brandon Paenga-Amosa make the cut for the three-game series to be played in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney.

With Stephen Moore retired and Tatafu Polota-Nau rested, hooker Jordan Uelese has earned a recall and will look to add to his two-Test appearance.

Peter Samu, who has announced that he will move to Brumbies from Crusaders in 2019 has been excluded but Cheika insisted that the 26-year-old can be a late addition to the squad provided New Zealand Rugby gives him an early release.

“I’ve been told at this point we can’t select him but there is a spot for him,” Cheika told reporters on a conference call.

“At this point, it’s in others’ hands . . . I’m not really involved in that part of it but I’m hoping there will be some more clarity on that tomorrow.”

"[Jack] Maddocks has had a really good year, I think he's had a couple of up and down games. He's made a lot of minutes for a young fella coming into this Super Rugby season and he's changed between fullback and wing.

"Tom Banks showed a little bit last year [what he could do], but I think he's been much more consistent this year.

"He's got genuine attacking ability, genuine pace and he backs himself. I like that about him, and I think that's what won him a spot in the team."

Australia squad for series against Ireland:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Folau Fainga’a, Ned Hanigan, Michael Hooper (captain), Sekope Kepu, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, David Pocock, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Izack Rodda, Caleb Timu, Lukhan Tui, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese.

Backs: Tom Banks, Kurtley Beale, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Samu Kerevi, Marika Koroibete, Tevita Kuridrani, Jack Maddocks, Sefanaia Naivalu, Nick Phipps, Joe Powell, Curtis Rona.


Wallabies Fixtures


Wallabies Results


Wallabies Squad